Faculty

Biological Catalysis

Faculty Member Research E-mail Phone Office Location
Banerjee, Ruma Enzymology of Radical and Redox-active Enzymes rbanerje@umich.edu 734.615.5238 4220C
MSRB III
Cho, Uhn-Soo Understanding the molecular mechanisms of epigenetic inheritance through structural and biochemical studies of histones and their regulators uhnsoo@umich.edu 734.764.6765 4220E MSRB III
Fierke, Carol Enzyme Mechanisms and Inhibition; Protein Engineering fierke@umich.edu 734.936.2678 4525
Chemistry
Garcia, George Process of RNA Base Modification and Their Physiological Roles gagarcia@umich.edu 734.764.2202 4567
C.C. Little
Koutmou, Kristin Ribosome function and regulation kkoutmou@umich.edu 734.764.5650 2549 Chemistry
Marsh, Neil Enzyme Mechanism and Structure; Protein Design nmarsh@umich.edu 734.763.6096 4537
Chemistry
Martin, Brent Chemical proteomics, fluorescent probes, post-translational modifications, inhibitors. brentrm@umich.edu 734.615.2867 4541 Chemistry
Nandakumar, Jayakrishnan Telomerase, Telomeres, Cancer, Aging Biochemistry jknanda@umich.edu 734.647.9152 4140D Nat. Sci.
Narayan, Alison Development of biocatalytic methods; Complex molecule synthesis arhardin@umich.edu 734.615.5505 4002 Life Sciences
O'Brien, Patrick Protein/Nucleic Acid Interactions and DNA Repair pjobrien@umich.edu 734.647.5821 4220B
MSRB III
Palfey, Bruce Enzyme Reaction Mechanisms in Pyrimidine Metabolism brupalf@umich.edu 734.615.2452 5220E
MSRB III
Pecoraro, Vincent The Role of Metals in Biology vlpec@umich.edu 734.763.1519 3823
Chemistry
Ragsdale, Stephen Enzyme Mechanisms; Metals in Biology; Redox Regulation sragsdal@umich.edu 734.615.4621 5220D
MSRB III
Scott, Emily Structure/function of human cytochrome P450 enzymes scottee@umich.edu 734.764.3530 2020 Pharmacy
Walter, Nils Structural Dynamics and Applications of Non-Coding RNAs nwalter@umich.edu 734.615.2060 2405 Chemistry


Biomolecular Structure, Function, & Recognition

Faculty Member Research E-mail Phone Office Location
Bailey, Ryan Macromolecular Structure and Function; Cancer Chemical Biology ryancb@umich.edu 734.764.1438 4821 Chemistry
Banerjee, Ruma Organometallic Cofactor Trafficking; Redox Signaling; Human Sulfur Metabolism rbanerje@umich.edu 734.615.5238 4220C
MSRB III
Biteen, Julie Single-Molecule Fluorescence, Live-Cell Biomedical Imaging, Plasmonics, Nanophotonics jsbiteen@umich.edu 734.647.1135 2533 Chemistry
Brooks III, Charles Physical Chemistry/Biophysical Chemistry/Theoretical and Computational Chemistry and Biophysics brookscl@umich.edu 734.647.6682 2006A
Chemistry
Chapman, Matthew Amyloid biology and bacterial biofilm formation chapmanm@umich.edu 734.764.7592 2095A Nat. Sci.
Cho, Uhn-Soo Understanding the molecular mechanisms of epigenetic inheritance through structural and biochemical studies of histones and their regulators uhnsoo@umich.edu 734.764.6765 4220E MSRB III
Cierpicki, Tomasz Development of small molecules targeting protein-protein interactions, Development of NMR techniques for drug discovery tomaszc@umich.edu 734.615.9324 4510C
MSRB I
Fierke, Carol Enzyme Mechanisms and Inhibition; Protein Engineering fierke@umich.edu 734.936.2678 4525
Chemistry
Frank, Aaron Integrative modeling and simulations biomolecules afrankz@umich.edu 734.615.0609 4022 Chemistry
Garcia, George Process of RNA Base Modification and Their Physiological Roles gagarcia@umich.edu 734.764.2202 4567
C.C. Little
Keane, Sarah RNA structure/function using NMR spectroscopy sckeane@umich.edu 734.615.3361 4022 Chemistry
Kennedy, Robert Signal Transduction Analysis in Neuroendocrine Systems; Drug-Screening rtkenn@umich.edu 734.615.4363 4815 Chemistry
Kerppola, Tom Regulation of Gene Expression kerppola@umich.edu 734.764.3554 4570A
MSRB II
Kopelman, Raoul Biomedical Nanosensors and Actuators kopelman@umich.edu 734.764.7541 4744
Chemistry
Koutmou, Kristin Ribosome function and regulation kkoutmou@umich.edu 734.764.5650 2549 Chemistry
Marsh, Neil Enzyme Mechanism and Structure; Protein Design nmarsh@umich.edu 734.763.6096 4537
Chemistry
Martin, Brent Chemical proteomics, fluorescent probes, post-translational modifications, inhibitors. brentrm@umich.edu 734.615.2867 4541 Chemistry
Nandakumar, Jayakrishnan Telomerase, Telomeres, Cancer, Aging Biochemistry jknanda@umich.edu 734.647.9152 4140D Nat. Sci.
Nikolovska-Coleska, Zaneta Discovery, Design, and Development of small-molecules as target therapies for cancer zanetan@med.umich.edu 734.615.9202 1368 NCRC (B520)
Pecoraro, Vincent The Role of Metals in Biology vlpec@umich.edu 734.763.1519 3823
Chemistry
Penner-Hahn, James Distribution, Structure and Function of Essential Trace-Elements jeph@umich.edu 734.764.7324 4020
Chemistry
Ragsdale, Stephen Enzyme Mechanisms; Metals in Biology; Redox Regulation sragsdal@umich.edu 734.615.4621 5220D
MSRB III
Saper, Mark Molecular Mechanisms of Bacterial Pathogenesis saper@umich.edu 734.764.3353 3040
Chemistry
Scott, Emily Structure/function of human cytochrome P450 enzymes scottee@umich.edu 734.764.3530 2020 Pharmacy
Skiniotis, Georgios Structural studies of chromatin modifying complexes, Structural studies of signaling cell surface receptors. skinioti@umich.edu 734.647.1532 6401
Life Sciences
Smith, Janet Protein Structure/Function using X-ray Crystallography janetsmith@umich.edu 734.615.9564 3437
Life Sciences
Smrcka, Alan Mechanistic evaluation of G protein signaling pathways as targets for therapeutics avsmrcka@umich.edu 734.615.4945 5560C MSRB II
Southworth, Daniel Protein Macromolecular Structure and Function by Cryo-Electron Microscopy dsouth@umich.edu 734.764.8938 6314A Life Sciences
Stockbridge, Randy Structure/function of membrane proteins, microbial fluoride resistance stockbr@umich.edu 734.764.1146 3040 Chemistry
Sun, Duxin Chemical biology of protein-protein interactions in cancers; Nanotechnology for cancer imaging and targeted drug delivery; Therapeutics of cancer stem cells; Pharmacokinetics and drug metabolism. duxins@med.umich.edu 734.615.8740 3353 NCRC (B520)
Tesmer, John The Chemistry of Sensation tesmerjj@umich.edu 734.615.9544 3435
Life Sciences
Trievel, Raymond Chemical and Structural Biology of Protein Posttranslational Modifications rtrievel@umich.edu 734.647.0889 4301C
MSRB III
Veatch, Sarah
Physical properties of plasma membrane lipids. sveatch@umich.edu 734.615.2099 3038 Chemistry
Walter, Nils Structural Dynamics and Applications of Non-coding RNAs nwalter@umich.edu 734.615.2060 2405
Chemistry
Weisman, Lois
Myosin V based transport, and phosphoinositide lipid signaling in yeast and in neurons lweisman@umich.edu 734.647.2539 6437 Life Sciences
Weiss, Stephen Transcriptional regulation of proteolytic effectors operative in cancer​ sjweiss@umich.edu 734.764.0030 5000 Life Sciences
Xu, Zhaohui
Biochemical Signaling; Protein Processing and Folding zhaohui@umich.edu 734.615.2077 3163B
Life Sciences
Zhang, Yang
Bioinformatics, Computational Biology, Protein Structure Prediction, Protein Design and Drug Discovery zhng@umich.edu 734.647.1549 2035B Palmer Commons


Chemical Genetics & Bioorganic Chemistry

Faculty Member Research E-mail Phone Office Location
Cierpicki, Tomasz Development of small molecules targeting protein-protein interactions, Development of NMR techniques for drug discovery tomaszc@umich.edu 734.615.9324 4510C
MSRB I
Garner, Amanda Development of conceptually new screening assays for and identification of chemical probes for mRNA translation-related protein-protein interactions and microRNAs algarner@umich.edu 734.763.2654 1362 NCRC (B520)
Glick, Gary Chemical Genetics Applied to Autoimmune Diseases and Cancer gglick@umich.edu 734.764.4548 2819
Chemistry
Grembecka, Jolanta Drug design, Development of small molecules for targeted therapies in cancer, Protein-protein interactions jolantag@umich.edu 734.615.9319 4510D
MSRB I
Lyssiotis, Costas Tumor Metabolism, Metabolomics, Cancer, Pancreatic Cancer, Autoimmunity clyssiot@umich.edu 734.615.9133 6308 Cancer Center
Mapp, Anna Discovery of Artificial Transcriptional Regulators amapp@umich.edu 734.615.6862 4000 Life Sciences
Martin, Brent Chemical proteomics, fluorescent probes, post-translational modifications, inhibitors. brentrm@umich.edu 734.615.2867 4541 Chemistry
Narayan, Alison Development of biocatalytic methods; Complex molecule synthesis arhardin@umich.edu 734.615.5505 4002 Life Sciences
Scott, Emily Structure/function of human cytochrome P450 enzymes scottee@umich.edu 734.764.3530 2020 Pharmacy
Sherman, David Bioorganic Chemistry; Molecular Genetics; Biochemistry davidhs@umich.edu 734.615.9907 4036
Life Sciences
Soellner, Matthew Kinase inhibitors; Protease substrates/inhibitors; Peptidomimetics soellner@umich.edu 734.615.2767 3813
Chemistry
Smrcka, Alan Mechanistic evaluation of G protein signaling pathways as targets for therapeutics avsmrcka@umich.edu 734.615.4945 5560C MSRB II
Wang, Shaomeng Drug design, synthesis, apoptosis, epigenetics, protein-protein interaction, new computational methods for protein-drug interaction shaomeng@med.umich.edu 734.615.0362 1245 NCRC (B520)
Weisman, Lois
Myosin V based transport, and phosphoinositide lipid signaling in yeast and in neurons lweisman@umich.edu 734.647.2539 6437 Life Sciences
Woodard, Ronald Enzyme Mechanism of Carbohydrate Biosynthetic Pathways rww@umich.edu 734.764.7366 2569
C.C. Little